Gleichenia microphylla aka Scrambling Coral Fern

South-Australia-Natureteers-Ferns-Gleicheniales-Gleicheniaceae-Gleichenia-microphylla_6
Gleichenia microphylla aka Scrambling Coral Fern
South-Australia-Natureteers-Ferns-Gleicheniales-Gleicheniaceae-Gleichenia-microphylla_5
Gleichenia microphylla aka Scrambling Coral Fern
South-Australia-Natureteers-Ferns-Gleicheniales-Gleicheniaceae-Gleichenia-microphylla_4
Gleichenia microphylla aka Scrambling Coral Fern
South-Australia-Natureteers-Ferns-Gleicheniales-Gleicheniaceae-Gleichenia-microphylla_3
Gleichenia microphylla aka Scrambling Coral Fern (?)
South-Australia-Natureteers-Ferns-Gleicheniales-Gleicheniaceae-Gleichenia-microphylla_2
Gleichenia microphylla aka Scrambling Coral Fern
South-Australia-Natureteers-Ferns-Gleicheniales-Gleicheniaceae-Gleichenia-microphylla_1
Gleichenia microphylla aka Scrambling Coral Fern

Gleichenia microphylla aka Scrambling Coral Fern
Kingdom: Plantae
Division: Pteridophyta
Class: Polypodiopsida or Pteridopsida (disputed)
Order: Gleicheniales
Family: Gleicheniaceae
Cleland Conservation Park, South Australia – August 2nd, 2014 – in dense mass along creek on the slopes of Mount Lofty – Cool, intermittently wet conditions

Photos & Text: Michal Dutkiewicz

I was hundreds of yards behind the others in a Eucalypt forest on the slopes of Mount Lofty in a part of the Cleland group of Parks whose specific name escapes me, and I was rushing down a kangaroo track to catch up and suddenly found myself standing in squelchy, peaty wetness – I squealed – My friends assumed it was the cold water seeping into my shoes, but it was because I was surrounded to eye level by a dense mass of the most beautiful species of a fern that was completely new to me – It was all around me and I just stood in the bog, madly snapping away and raving about the species! – It was a moment of pure magic! – Unfortunately as usual, my friends demanded that I hurry up, and so I didn’t get to search for other species in this amazing micro system! I did manage one quick snap of a sad specimen of Blechnum nudum, the Fishbone Water Fern.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gleichenia_microphylla
http://dpipwe.tas.gov.au/Documents/Gleichenia-microphylla-Notesheet.pdf
http://plantnet.rbgsyd.nsw.gov.au/cgi-bin/NSWfl.pl?page=nswfl&lvl=sp&name=Gleichenia~microphylla
http://www.nzpcn.org.nz/flora_details.aspx?ID=1947

2 thoughts on “Gleichenia microphylla aka Scrambling Coral Fern”

  1. I have learned more about this species since, and I have been lucky enough to photograph it again plus get much better shots of Blechnum nudum. – In the new set there will be a picture of me and a friend standing in the patch – They are very substantial in size compared to other SA ferns.

    Like

Leave a Reply

